

Okanagan Landing & District Community Association ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING November 20, 2023 - 7:00 pm

MINUTES

Chaired by Cyril Karvonen

- Call to Order 7:14 pm. MOTION to approve the Agenda by Mike Nolan 2nd Diane Carrol motion carried.
- 2. Roll call performed by registration at the door and quorum confirmed with 22 voting members in attendance. (12 needed for quorum based on current number of members). Cyril Karvonen commenced the meeting with the statement "As President of the Okanagan Landing & District Community Association, and in the spirit of this gathering, I recognize that Paddlewheel Hall and Park are located in the traditional territory of the Syilx People of the Okanagan Nation."
- 3. Call for new business no new business added to Agenda.
- 4. MOTION to approve Minutes of 2022 Annual General Meeting by Kathleen Nolan, Second Val Heuman motion carried.
- 5. President's Report and Committee Report Highlights Presented by Cyril Karvonen and Board of Directors
 - a) Executive Report submitted by Cyril Karvonen
 - b) Marketing and Events submitted by Charlene Karvonen and Jenna Kiesman. Discussion regarding Big Band Dance success with room to grow the event. Many thanks to the band, they were greatly appreciated by all. Barry McDougall offered to support a larger outdoor Big Band Event in support of our upcoming 75th Anniversary. Also mentioned is the 30-year annexation of the Landing by City of Vernon.
 - c) Stationhouse Museum and Heritage Submitted by Diana Bainbridge
 - d) Buildings and Grounds Submitted by Darrel Voaklander and Phil Carroll

- e) Park Improvement Submitted by Cyril Karvonen
- 6. Financial Review
 - a) Financial overview Bookkeeper Report, Income statement and Balance Sheet presented by Cyril Karvonen. General discussion regarding reserve funds, increased costs for cleaning and insurance, targeted capital fund raising campaigns, and installing concrete slab around the lift pump.
 - b) Year End review performed and signed off by Kelly Megyesi and Norma Duncan. Several recommendations will be adopted for next year's review.
 - c) MOTION by Victor Cumming to Waive Appointment of an Auditor for 2023/24 Fiscal Year, 2nd Ron Heuman motion carried.
- 7. **MOTION by Diane Carrol to Approval of 23/24 Budget**, 2nd Victor Cumming. Discussion regarding amount of security deposit. Motion carried.
- 8. Governance Presented by Cyril Karvonen on behalf of Governance Committee
 - a) Governance Committee highlights of reviewing bylaws, implementing Member and Volunteer Policy,
 - b) Election of Directors Nominations included Diana Bainbridge, Diane Carroll, Phil Carroll, Charlene Karvonen, Cyril Karvonen, and Mary-Ann Reid. Call made to all attendees for additional nominations to the Board of Directors – none. Members were informed of a nomination by a member that the Governance Committee rejected due to code of conduct issues. That person did not attend the AGM.

MOTION to elect the nominees for the Board of Directors by Mike Nolan, Second Barry Mc Dougall – motion carried.

- 9. New Business Award ceremony for three life members nominated by the Governance Committee and approved by the Board of directors included Leslie Albrecht, Diana Bainbridge and Victor Cumming for their meritorious service to the Association.
- 10. MOTION to Adjourn 8:20 pm by Phil Carroll, 2nd Mary-Ann Reid motion carried.